REFLECTION OF FIELD

Both field projects have highly influenced my work in subject. The first field trip I atended was Things behind the sun where I went to stay in a hostel in Pembrokeshire to study the landscape. I chose to go on this trip as it was in contrast to the work I was doing in subject at the time and the work I created that summer, which was primarily focused on studying cities I had visited over the summer and I hoped it would give me a fresh mind set and broaden my ideas. I had been concentrating on patterns and textures of my surroundings in the city and abstracting them. I found it challenging and interesting adapting these skills to the natural environment of the Pembrokeshire landscape. I continued to collect shapes and textures that reflected the environment. In the workshops I began to learn how to make depth and perspective unclear and create the landscape as an object, which became my primary interest which I carried through into my subject work.

I decided to move away from studying landscape after studying it in first term. Before going to Morocco, out of my own interest, I was studying ways to convey the human form. Developing my child-like drawing style had allowed me to break conventional ideologies of the human form and express myself. I decided I was going to use what I had learned in order to be able to capture the busy lifestyle of Marrakech which was in contrast to the quiet, calm Pembrokeshire setting. I wanted to carry on developing this painting style to achieve a unique visual language in my art. Both field projects have been a lot to do with developing myself as an artist and one day I hope that people will be able to identify my work without having to look at the signature.

I focused on different aspects in each field trip and treated them as very separate projects, focusing on how I can reflect the landscape in Pembrokeshire, using natural colours and focusing on my interactions with people in Morocco and its vibrant colours. Recently I have begun to combine these two very different experiences in my paintings which has helped with creating a visual language in my work that is unique and personal to me. I believe these field trips were very beneficial to developing myself as an artist. My work focuses around these two unique and diverse experiences and I believe they were vital in order to inspire my subject work. The field trips have inspired me to carry on gaining new experiences and travel as much as I can to create art. Recently I have adapted what I have learnt in field and I intend to continue to reflect my current environment of the city with shape texture while combining this with my interactions with the people around me to develop my painting style.

Leave a Reply

